eBay App Redesign: UI Design case study

Arjun Karthikeyan
4 min readOct 31, 2020

About eBay

eBay Inc. is an American multinational e-commerce corporation based in SaJose, California, that facilitates consumer-to-consumer and business-to-consumer sales through its website. eBay was founded by Pierre Omidyar in 1995, and became a notable success story of the dot-com bubble.

Why eBay Redesign

Initially i was doing Daily UI Challenge for 100 days, on my 12th day my challenge was to design a eCommerce website. I had an idea of redesigning an existing eCommerce website instead of designing a new website. At that time there was a strike in my mind of ebay app. During my school days o used to see an icon in google browser as ebay as the days passed it vanished from my mind and from the people around me. So thought to identify the problem and
solve it using my design.

User Research

So to conduct user research, I created a google form and sent to my friends who prefer online shopping. I got around 17 responses.

The set of question I asked were,

  1. Name
  2. Age
  3. Profession
  4. Most used online purchasing app
  5. Difficulties you face in eBay app
  6. One suggestion that can change in eBay app

Responses for above questions.

Difficulties people face in eBay App

Areas where people think to have a change

Issues and Pain points

Majorities of the people who i had surveyed thought to have ,

  1. A change in the overall design of the app.

Ideas to implement for the pain points

Design: As we seen in the above responses people feel to have a change in the overall design of the app. So I planned to give a some colorful interface so that it can attract the people to be engaged with the app more frequently to purchase their needs.

Problem Statement:

So after all the research and the insights, I write down the problem statement based on the user research because it was initially started upon my only opinion and after the research i found that people face the same issue and as a designer it is our primary duty to solve that problem so that it can welcome more audience to purchase their needs.

“To redesign the eBay Application which welcomes even more audience to purchase their needs”

UI Designs

For the designs, I tried to do a complete iOS Design

Home Page

The Homepage can be categorized into three parts. First one being the new releases and the second one is the categories and the third one is the best offers. The main focus of the homepage is to bring an preview of all the menu available on the app.

Launch Screen and Sign In pages

The initial pages of the app has been given above. To do the shopping just become a member by signing up and then start enjoy your shopping.

The various states of buttons are given below.

After seeing the activated and deactivated state of the button. Let’s have an view in the activated and deactivated state of icon.

Lets have a look at all the screens.

A complete walk on the purchase timeline

Conclusion & Future Enhancement:

I had solved the major problem said by the users. In the future, we should solve all other issues faced by the user so that the user can get more engaged to our application to purchase.

I am open to work as a UI Designer if you are someone who is hiring and liked my work please contact me through the details given below.

Thank you for reading my case study, share it if you liked it.

--

--